PONT L'ABBE

version française

Pont l'Abbé, small city of about 9000 inhabitants, is the capital of the Bigouden Country and its biggest city.

Pont-l'Abbé 's name comes from a bridge (pont in french) which would have been built, in that place, before the 10th century by the Abbots of Loctudy. It was during the medieval period a powerful barony whose lords are known since the twelfth century. Through the impetus given by the Baron Herve the third du Pont, in the 13th century, the first quay was built. With his wife Péronnelle de Rochefort, the Baron Herve founded the Convent of Carmes (1383), the Hospital and the Saint-Jean Chapel.

In 1590, during the tumultuous period of the League, the Pont-l'Abbé castle belonged to the defenders of the king party. It was defended by a man named Tréogat from Locronan, but nevertheless it was besieged and sacked by the supporters from the League. The castle was again looted and burnt in 1675 by the peasants revolted against the taxation of stamped paper.

Today the old castle from the Barons du Pont is reduced to a great building from the 18th century, flanked by a big round tower from the 15th century, with a very thin turret with a belltower. It is now used as a the Townhall and the tower contains the Bigouden Museum.


Contribution de Régis Andro [andro@eis.enac.dgac.fr].

PONT L'ABBE

english version

Pont l'Abbé, petite ville de 9000 habitants, est la capitale du Pays Bigouden et sa plus grande cité.

Pont-l'Abbé doit son origine et son nom à un pont qui aurait été construit en ce lieu avant le 10ème siècle par les abbés de Loctudy. C'était au Moyen-Age une puissante baronnie dont les seigneurs sont connus à partir du 12ème siècle. Sous l'impulsion du baron Hervé III du Pont, au 13è siècle, le premier quai fut construit. Avec sa femme Péronnelle de Rochefort, le baron Hervé fonda le couvent des Carmes (1383), l'hôpital et la Chapelle Saint-Jean.

En 1590, pendant les troubles de la ligue, le château de Pont-l'Abbé appartenait aux défenseurs du parti royal. Il était défendu par un certain Tréogat, de Locronan, mais fut cependant assiégé et finalement mis à sac par les ligueurs. Le château fut de nouveau pillé et incendié en 1675 par les paysans révoltés contre l'imposition du Papier Timbré.

Aujourd'hui l'ancien château des barons du Pont est réduit à un grand bâtiment du 18è, flanqué d'une grosse tour ronde du 15è, accostée d'une mince tourelle à campanile. Il sert maintenant d'Hôtel de Ville et la tour abrite le musée Bigouden.


Contribution de Régis Andro [andro@eis.enac.dgac.fr].