version française

Concentrate yourself. FORGET your neighbour who fiercely and relentlessly hits his keyboard (yes, i know , it is not easy). Soon after, the blow of your computer, that you think would have been omnipresent , vanishes from your mind to let the place to the sound of the powerful rollers that break on the rocks. So here you are at the Headland of La Torche.

LOOK around you!

To your left , you distinctly see the headland of Penmarc'h. To your right, the boundless beach of the Bay of Audierne stretches as far as the eye can see. Today, inspite of the cloudy weather, it is possible to see the coast of Plozévet. The wind heavy with sea sprays, whips your face.

Enlivening, isn'it? Since how long did you do not have REALLY BREATHE ?

The Headland of La Torche has gained an international renown thanks to the worldwide championship of funboard which was organized here during five successive years.

A long time ago before anyone has the idea to use a funboard here, our ancestors have already made from it a special place as testify all the prehistoric vestiges (and others...) gathered along the centuries in the surroundings. In this remote time, La Torche was only a rocky hill, isolated among low grounds, like a milestone showing the end of the world. With the help of time and erosion, it has been transformed in a peninsula , only granitic overhang in the middle of the sea , among the boundless sandy spaces of the Bay of Audierne.

Among the centuries different activities , linked to the natural environment have been done here : extraction of sand and gravels, making of soda, fishing in the Bay of Audierne, farming of vegetables and more recently flowers. And, if at each period the life at the Headland of La Torche has got a main activity , nowadays its play vocation predominates:

The activities practised at La Torche


Contribution of Régis Andro [andro@eis.enac.dgac.fr].

english version

Concentrez-vous. OUBLIEZ votre voisin qui s'acharne obstinément sur son clavier (oui, je sais, c'est dur). Peu à peu, le souffle de votre ordinateur, que vous pensiez pourtant omniprésent, s'efface de votre votre esprit pour laisser la place au bruit des puissants rouleaux déferlants sur les rochers. Ca y est, vous êtes arrivé(e) à la pointe de La Torche.

REGARDEZ autour de vous!

A gauche, vous voyez distinctement la pointe de Penmarc'h. A droite, l'immense plage de la baie d'Audierne s'étend à perte de vue. Aujourd'hui, bien que le temps soit nuageux, on peut apercevoir la côte de Plozévet. Le vent, chargé d'embruns, vous fouette le visage.

Vivifiant, non? Au fait, ça faisait combien de temps que vous n'aviez pas VRAIMENT RESPIRE?

La Pointe de La Torche a acquis une renommé internationale grâce au championnat du monde de planche à voile (Fun board), qui s'y est arrêté cinq années consécutives.

Bien avant qu'on ne pense à y naviguer sur une planche à voile, nos ancêtres en avaient déjà fait un lieu privilégié, comme en témoignent les vestiges préhistoriques (et autres...), accumulés au cours des siècles dans les alentours. En ces temps reculés La Torche n'était encore qu'une éminence rocheuse isolée au milieu de terrains peu elevés, telle une borne marquant le bout du monde. L'érosion et le temps aidant, elle s'est transformée en une presqu'île, seule avancée granitique en mer, au milieu des espaces sablonneux infinis de La Baie d'Audierne.

A travers tous ces siècles, différentes activités liées au milieu naturel s'y sont exercées : depuis l'extraction du sable et des galets, la fabrication de soude,la pêche en Baie d'Audierne, jusqu'à une agriculture légumière, et plus récemment florale, de La Torche.

Et, si à chaque époque la vie de la Pointe de la Torche a eu son activité phare, à présent sa vocation ludique prédomine:

Les activités pratiquées à La Torche


Contribution de Régis Andro [andro@eis.enac.dgac.fr].